Slayer - Reign In Blood

Slayer is most definitely on of the best thrash metal bands of all time. They have released many albums over the time they've been together but one really stands out to me, Reign In Blood. The album is thrash metal at it's best, all thirty minutes of it. The shortness in length doesn’t hinder it's effect at all you still walk away feeling all warm and tingly.

The first song on this thrash fest is a little song called “Angle of Death”. This is the reason people use double bass drums because of this song. You get halfway through the song and you start to hear this sound and wonder what it is, then you realize that is the drummer kicking the shit out of his bass drum to create a sound that cannot be duplicated it is amazing. Throw an awesome solo and wonderful happy lyrics about death and destruction and you have your self a song. The next notable track on this album is
"Jesus Saves". Trust me the title has absolutely nothing to do with the lyrics, but what really makes this a great song is the guitar work. It seems to draw you into the song and make you want to kill something. The last song on this album is "Raining Blood". It starts off with the sound of a storm then erupts into an amazing guitar part that will have you humming it all week. From there it goes into happy lyrics about killing and low and behold raining blood. The amazing guitar part comes back halfway through the song and then dies off.

All in all, this album is amazing there is no other adjective to use. The only downside is if you don’t like morbid lyrics or thoughts you won't like this
let's just put it this way "The only way to exit is going piece by piece" "Death will come easy just close your eyes" basically every song has at least one reference to a painful death. Slayer is a great band but don’t go out and buy just any slayer album because no offence to them but the stuff after "Reign in Blood" isn't half as good as this is.


Buy It

1. Angel Of Death
2. Piece By Piece
3. Necrophobic
4. Altar Of Sacrafice
5. Jesus Saves
6. Criminally Insane
7. Reborn
8. Epidemic
9. Postmortem
10. Raining Blood
11. Aggressive Perfector
12. Criminally Insane (Remix)

Written by: Chas

<More Reviews>