Agent Orange - Living in Darkness

Agent Orange is a relatively unknown punk band hailing from Southern California. However, unlike many of the scene's other regulars, AO strayed away from the heaviness of hardcore. They were one of the first punk bands to embrace surf guitar, and generally had more pop sensibility than one would expect from an early SoCal band. Living in Darkness is a testament to that; a rerelease of the band's debut album with some bonus material that highlights their influential and unique sound. Many of the tracks contain dark and depressing lyrics, warranting the album's title, but interestingly enough the album is far from downtrodden. Tracks like "Everything Turns Grey" and "No Such Thing" are prime examples of AO's musical style, but it's hard to pick favorites from this great CD. Other notables are a cover of Dick Dale's "Miserlou", the hardcore-ish "El Dorado", and an interview with the band from 1981. The only thing that really detracts from many of the songs is the thin bass sound. In the interview, the band claims that they made many mistakes in the hasty recording of the album, but that's the only one I've been able to pick out so far. Nevertheless, Living in Darkness is a classic punk album from a crucial yet severely underrated band. Anyone looking for good surf punk or even pop punk should check this out.


Buy It

1. Bloodstains [Original Version]
2. Too Young to Die
3. Everything Turns Grey
4. Miserlou
5. The Last Goodbye
6. No Such Thing
7. Cry for Help in a World Gone Mad
8. Bloodstains [Darkness Version]
9. Living in Darkness
10. Pipeline
11. Breakdown
12. Mr. Moto
13. America
14. Bored of You
15. El Dorado
16. Interview 1981

Written by: Tosh

<More Reviews>